project jumanjii – putting my, ummm, artistic skills to use?

It seems inevitable to point this out. But I know I tend to get a little heavy with my writing. In fact, heaviness seems to be the main theme by which I run with. I’m not entirely sure why I do this, or what that says about me, or if it is some kind of indication of the type of character or person that I am. And I’ll be completely honest with you. Even I tend to raise my eyebrows as I skim over my words, wondering at this god forsaken ability I seem to have, about taking myself back there and being able to re-live long gone memories as if it happened just the other day. When I’m in a good frame of mind, I read my words, and its like glimpsing into the mind of some ominous, sad woman who needs to lighten the fuck up. And then that realization – oh shit. That’s me.

So I’ve delegated myself a little challenge. Of writing more, well, light and uplifting stuff, I guess. And believe me, this is gonna be HARD. I keep all that’s dear and special to me close to my heart. Frivolous, light, carefree or glossy superficial topics hold very little interest for me as far as my writing goes because I know that’s not where my strength as a writer lies. Diving into the depths and stirring up emotions, thats more my thing, as this is a place where I tend to dwell a lot. Gets tiring, though, you know. Being this serious ass person all the time. So I wanna give the lighter side of life a shot. On piece of paper, anyway. Besides, I always said that, if I were to come back to this blog, I would try be a bit more versatile with my topics.

Which brings me to Project Jumanjii!

My girls fifth birthday is coming up soon. December 23rd, two days before Christmas. Good Lord, time has gone by fast. Too fast. Seems like not even that long ago when she descended upon my life and turned it inside out and upside down, and I mean that in the best way possible. I love being a mama. Love it more than life itself. Fulfilment seemed just an illusion, until I had her. Of all the people in my life who attempted, and failed, to control me, who would have known that this little fucking peanut would be the one to do it, and without even trying, too? At times she can drive me to koo-koo land and beyond, and shes the ONLY one that’s allowed to do that. I call her my biggie girl. Because even though she’s going to be five soon, she already has the size, build – and attitude – of a kid much older.

...my biggie, afro-haired baby girl... only four years old...
…my biggie, afro-haired baby girl… four years old…

I had a conversation with her the other day. About painting up her (unpainted) bunk bed for her birthday. This bunk bed has been sitting in our room for two years now, and is more a dumping ground for washing than it is for sleeping on. Just the other day I managed to dismantle the humongous thing and it now sits outside my house, ready to be glorified and magically restored into either a beautiful piece of art…or a bumbling mess? We’ll soon see which one.

...the start of Project Jumanjii...
…the start of Project Jumanjii…

Those draws, I dragged up the hill from the neighbours. Amazing, the shit you find on the side of the road here in Kangaroo land. I’m a big fan of verge shopping. My entire house is decked out with verge junk that cost me just a twenty dollar gas and a trailer fee from Bunnings. Just a few items that I’ve grabbed, cleaned and varnished, that now sit in my house, looking for all the world like they were purchased from some high value antique store.

IMG_20151028_083713 IMG_20151028_083738 IMG_20151028_083805

Going off topic there. So anyway, I’m sitting there, talking to my girl, showing her these pages upon pages of themed ideas for her bunk. Pink, purple and anything girlie or along the line of ‘princess’ is out of the question, as that is most definitely NOT who my girl is. Frozen, Dora and dolls have never really been her thing, and I think I still have a dozen be-headed, armless and legless barbies lying around here somewhere that can attest to this fact.

Like mama, like daughter.  And yes, I am proud.

…no barbies for my girl…

When I narrow down her interests and what she gets into, it would be that she loves play fighting and punching me and her dad up (shes got some sore punches too. Wondering if I should enrol her in karate?) Also, she loves, loves, loves any Marvel character as long as it flies, has a sword or possesses super powers.

…more my girls cuppa tea…

‘I want that one!’ she yells out, pointing to a super-man themed bedroom off the side of the page where I am attempting to find super awesome bunk bed themes on google. Before that, it was Batman. And before that, a room decked out in pure Marvel style with a huge mural of wolverine and Cyclops splashed on the wall.

‘Ummm…’ quickly scrolling down. I always let her exercise the right to be herself, but a superman themed bunk bed for my five year old daughter is a bit much.  Marvel toys and XBOX games is as far as I’ll take it.

She shoves her chubby cheeks in my face. “Muuuum, what about a Ninja Turtles?”

This is turning out to be hard. I do not want my GIRL sleeping in an underground sewer of New York City, with four turtles as sleeping companions. That doesn’t seem ideal at all.

And then a brainwave comes to me as I recall her recently jabbering on a bit about going to the zoo. I quickly type in ‘animal themes’ and hit enter. And the silver lining appears.

“Yes, yes mum!” she jumps up and proceeds to roar and make lion noises. “That’s it, my mum! I wanna go to the zoo! And I’ll have monkeys, and a lion and a tiger and a giraffe!!’

She’s now super excited about her upcoming birthday present. And I now have a super sore head just from thinking how I’m gonna pull this off. So far, all I’ve done is drag the stuff under the garage, which is going to be my workshop. Given that I am the least artistically inclined person that I know, this is going to be an interesting challenge!

Let PROJECT JUMANJII BEGIN!!

...the end result???
…the end result???
Leave a Reply

